As a driver, you could face charges for a host of reasons. Some traffic charges carry harsh repercussions, whether you have to spend time behind bars, lose your driver’s license, pay steep financial penalties or suffer from a career standpoint.
Many people find themselves in this position as a result of speeding and it is vital to understand New Jersey’s laws on speeding.
Reviewing speed limits in different areas
According to a manual published by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, the speed limits on New Jersey roads vary from one area to another. In a school zone, drivers must not exceed 25 miles per hour, while the speed limit in residential districts and business zones is 35 miles per hour. Some state highways have a speed limit of 55 miles per hour, while the speed limit on some interstate highways is 65 miles per hour.
The consequences of speeding violations
In some instances, you could face even harsher penalties when charged with speeding. For example, if you face charges due to speeding over 10 miles per hour on an interstate highway with a posted speed limit of 65 miles per hour, fines become doubled. Moreover, the penalties for speeding increase depending on how fast a driver speeds. For example, driving 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit could result in five points on your driving record.
If you are facing speeding charges, you need to understand your options and take steps to protect your future. The right approach to your case could play a key role in protecting your driving privileges.