Getting a DUI in New Jersey can cause inconvenience when you lose your driving privileges. Even if this is your first offense, you will at least lose your license long enough to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
While you may feel tempted to continue driving while you work through legalities, this decision can make things even worse. Knowing the consequences of driving on a suspended license may incentivize you to find other options until you complete all of the requirements to legally drive again.
Once informed of your consequences, make sure you understand what your obligations are to avoid getting into any other trouble. Do not be afraid to ask questions and make sure you understand what you need to do to have your privileges reinstated. According to The State of New Jersey, Department of Law & Public Safety, driving on a suspended license can result in imprisonment for up to 180 days without the option of parole after conviction. Other consequences may include the following:
- Revocation of your vehicle registration
- A fine of up to $500
- One to two years added onto your license suspension
Because the consequences of trying to drive on a suspended license are simply not worth it, you would benefit from coordinating other transportation plans until you get your driver’s license back. You could ask family and friends to help you with rides or you could use a ridesharing service. You can also walk or bike if the places you need to go are within a realistic distance. Public transportation is another option to consider.
When you adhere to the contingencies of your impending charges, you can avoid ongoing legal troubles. You can reestablish your reputation and the trust others have in you. Following all requirements can aid in your effort to get your license back as quickly as possible.