If you were charged with driving under the influence in New Jersey, one of the consequences you may be dealing with is the suspension of your driver’s license. While inconvenient for you, it is one way that authorities can protect you, your passengers and other motorists from the possibility that you will drive under the influence again. Your commitment to follow through with the consequences that are recommended for you and demonstrate a difference in behavior may help you to support your quest to get your license back as quickly as possible.
One of the biggest mistakes you can make after you are charged and are awaiting the next steps in your process to take accountability for your actions is to choose to drive with a suspended license. No matter how careful you think you are and how unlikely it is that you will be caught with a suspended license, even toying with that possibility can put you at risk of more extreme legal consequences.
According to The State of New Jersey Department of Law & Public Safety, if you are pulled over and the authorities discover that you are operating a vehicle on a suspended driver’s license, some of the consequences you may be facing include the following:
- A prolonged suspension of your license that could go up to 2 years.
- Monetary fines of varying amounts, which could cost you as much as $500.
- Time spent behind bars.
- Inability to have your registration reinstated for a designated period of time.
The information in this article is intended for educational purposes only and should not be taken as legal advice.